Kings with us!

‘You are already full! You are already rich! You have reigned as kings without us, and indeed I could wish you did reign, that we also might reign with you! For I think that God has displayed us, the apostles last, as men condemned to death; for we have been made a spectacle to the world, both to angels and men. We are fools for Christ’s sake, but you are wise in Christ! We are weak, but you are strong! You are distinguished, but we are dishonored.’ ~ 1 Cor. 4:8-10

To fully understand what Paul said in the preceding verses, we must back up to chapter 3 and take in verses 1-4. Here Paul warns against the worship of men. ‘And I brethren, could not speak to you as spiritual people but as to carnal, as to babes in Christ. I fed you with milk and not with solid food; for until now you are not able to receive it, and even now you are still not able; for you are still carnal. For where there are envy, strife, and divisions among you, are you not carnal and behaving like mere men? For when one says, ‘I am of Paul’, and another, ‘I am of Apollos’, are you not carnal?’ The following is simply a restatement, ‘Therefore let no one boast in men. For all things are yours: whether Paul or Apollos or Cephas, or the world or life or death, or things present or things to come all are yours. And you are Christ’s, and Christ is God’s.’ (verse 22) Meaning simply that we have been given everything we need to know God because we are His and He is ours, and we are all God’s children. In other words, the only shot caller in God’s kingdom is God Himself! Who by His own gracious hand has made us all kings individually with Himself!

The sufferings and persecutions Paul speaks about in chapter 4:8-13 are a direct result of those that have declared themselves kings and queens of their own little castles while Paul and the apostles suffer dishonor like common criminals. Hence Paul’s statement, ‘You have reigned as kings without us.’ In other words, while you’re in church singing songs about the Lord, we are outcasts in the streets getting beat to death. Sound familiar?

Unfortunately most christians will not experience this until it’s too late and has actually happened to them. I say unfortunate because if we were discerning enough we could stop some of this nonsense before it occurred. However, it is not until we actually stand against religion and the worship of men in an organized church that this horrendous, yet enlightening experience is actually felt. Sadly enough, the worst persecutions are almost always in house! This is a terrible, yet very true and present reality.

Authors note:
My friends, if you have been disfellowshipped by a clergy gone wild and your suffering persecution in regards to the purity of God’s loving grace and the gospel of Christ; here is what I believe Jesus would say to those coming in like prisoners at the end of the procession:

Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.
Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.
Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be filled.
Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.
Blessed are the poor in heart, for they shall see God.
Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.
Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Commentary by:
George L. Miller

P.S. Since leaving the physical church, i.e. the building; my wife and I have begun to see and experience God like never before! Because now ours truly is the kingdom of heaven! God bless you all!

2 thoughts on “Kings with us!

  1. Mia says:

    Dear George

    The same has happened to us, dear friend. I was the first to leave the organized church after terrible abuse. I knew that my husband would follow me, but I waited for God to reveal His heart to Andre. Andre told me the other day that he is much closer to God that he has ever been and I can only say that it was necessary for me to leave to get to know Jesus!

    Thanks for your encouragement for it is not an easy road to walk; quite narrow, actually, but oh, so very much worth everything that we could ever call our own, especially our own brand of religion and the false security it offered as fringe benefits!

    I am happily disabled with CFS/Fm and cherish all the time I have to lie down at Jesus’ feet listening to His still, gentle voice teaching me with such incredible patience and love. I have never been happier in my life even though I am housebound and very often bed bound.

    I also love to blog about the deadly trap of religious deception and to tell others how our Lord Jesus has set me free. I pray that He will continue to bless you and keep you as we live in Jesus.

    Love to you and your wife.

    Blessings XX
    Mia

Leave a Reply

