Letting go of the “I wills”!

The following is a statement taken from Isaiah chapter 14. These statements speak of the devil and are most commonly referred to as the five “I wills”:

I will ascend into heaven, I will exalt my throne above the stars of God; I will also sit on the mount of the congregation; I will ascend above the heights of the clouds, I will be like the Most High.

These next statements are what I perceive to be modern Christianity’s equivalence of the famous five “I wills”:

I will transform myself into the image of Christ by what I do; I will sanctify myself by what I do not do; I will remain justified by observing the commandments; and I will keep myself cleansed and righteous through my confession. I will keep myself saved!

Author’s note:
My friends, the devil would love to keep us stuck in the “I wills”, but we are not his we are Christ’s; and we have been transformed into the image of Christ by Christ Himself! In other words, we were sanctified, justified, cleansed and made righteous the moment we received salvation. Thus, it is Christ and Christ alone who is and will remain the eternal author of our salvation! So if you are stuck in the “I wills”, please my beloved, refocus on the He has and He wills! God bless!

I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me. ~ Galatians 2:20

Looking unto Jesus, the Author and Finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. ~ Heb. 12:2

But we all, with open face beholding as in a glass the glory of the Lord, are changed into the same image from glory to glory, even as by the Spirit of the Lord. ~ II Cor. 3:18

Commentary by:
George L. Miller

P.S. Here is Paul’s attempt to reason with the Galatians regarding this subject: This only I want to learn from you: Did you receive the spirit by the works of the law, or by the hearing of faith? Are you so foolish? Having begun in the spirit, are you now being made perfect by the flesh? Have you suffered so many things in vain – if indeed it was in vain? ~ Galatians 3:2-4

Leave a Reply

